Dezeen Awards 2023

Image: Interior project designed by Patricia Urquiola for Six Senses Rome. © Luca Rotondo


Patricia Urquiola

Interior designer of the year

Milan-based Patricia Urquiola was named Interior designer of the year 2023. Multi-disciplinary Studio Urquiola works on projects in industrial product design, architecture, art direction and strategic consultancy. Recent projects by Studio Urquiola include a collection of outdoor rugs inspired by the texture of woolly jumpers and a 4,300 square-foot flagship showroom with plant-filled alcoves for Italian furniture brand Moroso in New York.

Image: White Arkitekter, Nodi, Nya Hovås, Gothenburg, Sweden, 2021. © photo: Åke Eson Lindman


White Arkitekter

Architect of the year

Scandinavian architecture practise White Arkitekter was named Architect of the year 2023. White Arkitekter specialises in sustainable architecture, urban design, landscape architecture and interior design. The studio has become a pioneer of wooden architecture and has pledged to make all its buildings carbon-neutral by 2030. Recent projects include a timber-framed office building in Gothenburg and a 20-storey carbon-negative timber building in Skellefteå. White Arkitekter in collaboration with Henning Larsen are also designing Stockholm Wood City, a mixed-use development which will become the world's largest mass-timber development.

Image: CoLab, classroom furniture collection by Pearson Lloyd in partnership with British brand Senator.


Pearson Lloyd

Designer of the year

East London design studio Pearson Lloyd was named Designer of the Year 2023. Founded by Luke Pearson and Tom Lloyd, the studio works with manufacturers, brands and public bodies to identify and build products, spaces and services that respond to the day-to-day challenges and experiences. Recent projects include a classroom furniture collection to suit Gen Z learning and a timber chair with replaceable components for Takt.

About the Dezeen Awards

2024 Getty Prize

Image: Mark Bradford, You Don't Have to Tell Me Twice, 2023. © Mark Bradford Courtesy the artist and Hauser & Wirth


Mark Bradford

Getty Prize

Los Angeles-based artist Mark Bradford is the winner of the 2024 Getty Prize. Starting this year, the award comes with an endowment for the winner to donate to a non-profit of their choice. Best known for his large-scale abstract paintings and collages, Bradford explores the social and political structures that objectify marginalised groups and individuals. He also works in sculpture, video, photography, printmaking and installation, and often organises social projects and educational workshops in underserved communities. He is a co-founder of the Los Angeles non-profit Art + Practice, which focuses on issues related to education, foster care and the arts.

About the Getty Prize

2023 Soane Medal

Image: Lacaton & Vassal, FRAC Nord-Pas de Calais, Dunkerque, France, 2015. © photo: Philippe Ruault


Lacaton & Vassal

Soane Medal

French studio Lacaton & Vassal has been named the winner of the 2023 Soane Medal. Social housing specialist Lacaton & Vassal, which is led by duo Anne Lacaton and Jean-Philippe Vassal, was honoured for its 30-year body of work that focuses on reuse. Through the resourceful repurposing of materials and existing structures, Lacaton & Vassal transform buildings in a way which prioritises the needs of residents and local communities, while remaining sensitive to environmental concerns. The pursuit of continued architectural improvement underpins their work, demonstrating the importance of architecture in people’s lives.

About the Soane Medal

2024 Met Contemporary Commissions

Image: Lee Bul, Untitled (Cravings Red), 2011 (reconstruction of 1988 work), fabric, fibre filling, wooden frame, stainless steel carabiner, stainless-steel chain, acrylic paint, 180 x 158 x 130 cm. © Photo: Jeon Byung-cheol, © Photo: Studio Lee Bul


Petrit Halilaj

Lee Bul

Tong Yang-Tze

Met Contemporary Commissions

The Met announced the artists for its 2024 Contemporary Commissions. The Roof Garden Commission was awarded to Petrit Halilaj who will unveil a sculptural installation in April 2024. The Facade Commission was awarded to Lee Bul, the artist has been commissioned to create four sculptures for The Met Fifth Avenue's facade niches, opening September 2024. Tong Yang-Tze received The Great Hall Commission, he will create two large-scale works of calligraphy, on view beginning November 2024.

About the Met Contemporary Commissions

Bourse Saif Carte Blanche Étudiants

Image: © Florian Gatzweiler


Florian Gatzweiler

Bourse Saif Carte Blanche Étudiants

German photographer Florian Gatzweiler, one of the artists featured on the Carte Blanche Étudiants programme, is the second winner of the Saif Carte Blanche Étudiants grant. His project Revisiting Masculinityanalyses toxic masculinity through the prism of prisoners. With the support of the Saif and Picto Foundation, he will receive a grant to develop this project and publish it. The percentage of men in prison in Germany is 94%. Where does the vast majority of men in these statistics come from? Why do men become more serious criminals? To answer these questions, Florian Gatzweiler looks at the image of men in our society and their individual socialisation.

About the Bourse Saif Carte Blanche Étudiants

2023 RIAS Doolan Award

Image: Ann Nisbet Studio, Cuddymoss, North Ayrshire, Scotland. © photo: David Barbour


Cuddymoss by Ann Nisbet Studio

RIAS Doolan Award

Cuddymoss by Ann Nisbet Studio is the winner of the Andrew Doolan Best Building in Scotland Award by the Royal Incorporation of Architects in Scotland (RIAS). At Cuddymoss, Ann Nisbet Studio has made new use of a ruined agricultural building in the remote Ayrshire landscape, seeking to retain as much of the dilapidated ruin as possible, and acknowledging its connections with the landscape and those who worked the land. With the client viewing his role as a custodian rather than an owner, the design avoids domesticating or over-romanticising the building, and instead preserves its existing character through a simple and restrained approach.

About the RIAS Doolan Award