Prix pour la Photographie du musée
du quai Branly – Jacques Chirac

Image: © Seif Kousmate


Gayatri Ganju

Seif Kousmate

Ritual Inhabitual

Prix pour la Photographie du musée
du quai Branly – Jacques Chirac

In the wake of its biennale program and photographic residencies, the musée du quai Branly – Jacques Chirac is creating its Prix pour la Photographie. With a new formula and a new endowment, the institution reaffirms its historic and long-lasting commitment to serving contemporary and extra-European photographic creation. For this first edition, the winners of the Prix pour la Photographie du musée du quai Branly – Jacques Chirac are Gayatri Ganju (India) for her project Someone who's here and there, Seif Kousmate (Morocco) for his project Waha and the collective Ritual Inhabitual (Chile) for its project Oro verde.

Image: Mário Macilau, from the series Fé/Faith, 2015-2019. © Mário Macilau


Mário Macilau

Camila Juarez Morales

Mention spéciale

The jurors also awarded two special mentions to Mário Macilau (Mozambique) for his project Following the wind and to Camila Juarez Morales (Guatemala) for her project La comunidad. Alternative traditions, formative rituals, overexploitation of nature, migrations, the Prix pour la Photographie tell complex stories fueled by the societal and environmental issues of our world.

About the Prix pour la Photographie du musée du quai Branly – Jacques Chirac

2022 Matsutani Prize

Image: Nefeli Papadimouli, Exhibition view: Milieu Mouvant, Paris, 2022. © Romain Darnaud


Nefeli Papadimouli

Matsutani Prize

Nefeli Papadimouli is the winner of the 2022 Matsutani Prize, supported by the Fonds de dotation SHOEN. Born in Athens in 1988, artist and architect Nefeli Papadimouli lives between Athens and Paris. Her work, halfway between sculpture, film, installation and performance, is inspired by the avant-garde of the early 20th century, the German painter and decorator Oskar Schlemmer and the American dancer Trisha Brown to question the notion of space, through the prism of its relationship with the body and the collective.

About the Matsutani Prize

2022 Hublot Design Prize

Image: nmbello Studio, Waf. Kiosk, 2021 / 2022. © Jide Ayeni


Nifemi Marcus-Bello

Hublot Design Prize

Nifemi Marcus-Bello won the 2022 Hublot Design Prize. Continuing its support of young designers, Hublot this year celebrates the seventh, and biggest, edition of the annual Hublot Design Prize. Nifemi Marcus-Bello is a Nigeria-based industrial designer known for his community-led, ethnographic-conscious design approach that pursues new forms and typologies. In 2017, he founded his eponymous design studio focusing on furniture, product and installation design.

Image: Maya Bird-Murphy, Chicago Mobile Makerspace. © Tom Harris


Maya Bird-Murphy

Connor Cook

Pierre Keller award

Maya Bird-Murphy and Connor Cook received the Pierre Keller award. Maya Bird-Murphy is a designer, educator, founder and executive director of Chicago Mobile Makers, an award-winning nonprofit organisation bringing design and skill-building workshops to underrepresented communities in the hope of helping to make the world a more equitable place to live. Connor Cook is a Netherlands-based designer from California who has developed a practice of computational performance, transforming the technical operations of computer game engines into live, interactive audio-visual experiences.

About the Hublot Design Prize

2022 The Architecture Drawing prize

Image: Hybrid Category winner – Samuel Wen and Michael Ren, Fitzroy Food Institute.


Weicheng Ye

Samuel Wen and Michael Ren

Anton Markus Pasing

The Architecture Drawing prize

Currently in its 6th year, The Architecture Drawing Prize continues to celebrate the art of drawing in three categories: hand-drawn, hybrid and digital. The 2022 winner of the Hand-Drawn Category is The Spirit of Mountain by Weicheng Ye. Drawn with pencil, the exceptionally atmospheric work explores the relationship between the man-made and nature. The 2022 Hybrid Category winner is Fitzroy Food Institute by Samuel Wen and Michael Ren. The drawing explores themes around Chinese culture, globalisation and automation. Anton Markus Pasing was selected as Digital Category winner this year. His drawing The Wallplays on ideas around the beginning, the end and the finite.

About The Architecture Drawing prize