Hyundai Commission 2023

Image: El Anatsui, Kindred Viewpoints, 2016
Aluminium and copper wire, 1680 x 2140 cm
Image courtesy Marrakech Biennale 6, NOT NEW NOW
Photo © Jens Martin


El Anatsui

Hyundai Commission

El Anatsui, the multimedia artist known for his bottle-cap tapestries articulated with copper wire, will be the next artist to do the Hyundai Commission at Tate Modern’s Turbine Hall. Repurposing found materials into dazzling works of abstract art, Anatsui’s work explores themes that include the environment, consumption and trade. Anatsui was born in Anyako, Ghana, in 1944. In 1975, he started teaching at the University of Nigeria, where he eventually became professor of sculpture. His bottle cap tapestries gained fame in the early 2000s. In 2015, Anatsui was awarded the Golden Lion for Lifetime Achievement at the Venice Biennale. His site-specific work for the Turbine Hall will be open to the public from 10 October 2023 – 14 April 2024.

About the Hyundai Commission

Premio Nacional de Arquitectura 2022

Image: Emilio Tuñón y Carlos Martínez Albornoz, Casa de piedra en Cáceres, Urbanización Sierrilla, Cáceres, 2015-2018. Fotografía: Luis Asín.


Emilio Tuñón

Premio Nacional de Arquitectura

Spanish architect, Emilio Tuñón, was awarded the Premio Nacional de Arquitectura 2022. Born in Spain in 1959, Emilio Tuñón was rewarded many times throughout his career. In 2007, he received the prestigious Mies van der Rohe Award for the MUSAC, Museo de Arte Contemporáneo de Castilla y León in Spain. Among his works, the Museo de arte contemporáneo Helga de Alvear built in Cáceres (2019), reveals his serial approach to the facade and his taste for graphics rich in shadows and light. In a very different and simplified register, the Casa de piedra, a stone house built in Sierrilla, Cáceres (2018), is a prismatic volume made of raw materials with attention to detail.

About the Premio Nacional de Arquitectura

2023 ArchDaily Building of the Year Awards

Image: Brazilian Pavilion Expo Dubai 2020 / MMBB Arquitetos + Ben-Avid + JPG.ARQ (UAE), Cultural Architecture category winner.


ArchDaily Building of the Year Awards

The 15 winners of the 2023 ArchDaily Building of the Year Awards have been announced. From Residential, to Commercial or Public, each category showcases the very best in innovation, sustainability, design and functionality. The scale of this award is a reflection of how important architecture is today, as the deepening complexity of our world places increasing pressure and demands upon our built environment to deal with issues such as the climate crisis, energy scarcity, population density, social inequality, housing shortages, fast-moving urbanization, diminished local identity and a lack of diversity.

About the ArchDaily Building of the Year Awards

John Kobal Foundation Fellowship

Image: Lindokuhle Sobekwa, from the series I carry Her photo with Me, 2017–ongoing.
© Lindokuhle Sobewka/Magnum Photos


Lindokuhle Sobekwa

John Kobal Foundation Fellowship

The inaugural John Kobal Foundation fellow and recipient of the award is the South African photographer Lindokuhle Sobekwa. Born in Katlehong, Johannesburg in 1995 he was awarded in 2015 a scholarship to study at the Market Photo Workshop, in 2017 he was selected by the Magnum Foundation for Photography and Social Justice (NYC) to develop the project I carry Her photo of Me, and in 2021 he completed a residency at A4 Foundation in Cape Town. His work has been exhibited in South Africa, Iran, Norway, USA and the Netherlands. In 2022 he became a full member of Magnum Photos.

About the John Kobal Foundation Fellowship

Prix Emerige/CPGA

Image: Kenia Almaraz Murillo, Torre Azul (Tour bleue), 2023
Tissage en alpaga, laine, coton, acrylique (locale Bolivie et France), fil d'or (années 30, France), néon led, phares de camion et structure en acier, 127 x 114 x 11 cm
© Nano Ville


Kenia Almaraz Murillo

Galerie Anne-Sarah Bénichou

Prix Emerige/CPGA

Kenia Almaraz Murillo and the Galerie Anne-Sarah Bénichou are the winners of the first edition of the Prix Emerige/CPGA ARCOmadrid. Organized by, Emerige and the Comité professionnel des galeries d’art (CPGA), the prize rewards an artist living and working in France as well as the gallery exhibiting him at the ARCOmadrid contemporary art fair, whose 2023 edition is held from February 22 to 26. Kenia Almaraz Murillo was born in 1994 in Santa Cruz de la Sierra, Bolivia. In weaving, painting and fresco, Kenia tries to transcribe her fascination for the geometric forms and symbols of the Andean textile. In rhythmic compositions, she tries to pay homage to the vibrations of colors that she observes in nature. The use of light allows her to give a symbolic and innovative dimension to traditional weaving.

About the Prix Emerige/CPGA ARCOmadrid

Prix Paris 1 Panthéon Sorbonne
pour l’Art Contemporain

Image: Pierre Duval, A nos Grands-Pères, boîtes de conserve (fer blanc).


Pierre Duval

Prix Paris 1 Panthéon Sorbonne
pour l’Art Contemporain

Pierre Duval, born in 2000, is an artist, curator and scenographer. He lives and works in Paris. His poetic approach to Still Life is part of our unstable present and questions the notion of extinction. Working with different mediums, such as video, drawing, performance, sculpture, the artist approaches it through vanitas, still life and landscape. In his work, personal and collective memory is symbolized through the use of mediums or everyday objects, with a desire for "destruction" in the process. His work poetically reflects the chaos facing our time, faced with a complex past and a future full of uncertainties.

About the Prix Paris 1 Panthéon Sorbonne pour l’Art Contemporain

2023 UOVO Prize

Image: Still from Suneil Sanzgiri, Golden Jubilee, 2021. Courtesy the artist


Suneil Sanzgiri

UOVO Prize

Suneil Sanzgiri is the recipient of the fourth annual UOVO Prize, which recognizes the work of emerging Brooklyn-based artists. Sanzgiri is an artist, researcher and filmmaker. Spanning experimental video and film, animations, essays and installations, his work contends with questions of identity, heritage, culture and diaspora in relation to structural violence and anticolonial struggles across the Global South. Sanzgiri’s films offer sonic and visual journeys through family history, local mythology and colonial legacies of extraction in Goa, India, where his family originates.

About the UOVO Prize

2023 Deutsche Bank Frieze Los Angeles

Film Award

Image: Irene Gil-Ramon, Best Day of My Life (in LA), 2023. Film Still


Irene Gil-Ramon

Deutsche Bank Frieze Los Angeles Film Award

Irene Gil-Ramon was selected as the winner of the Jury Award by a panel composed of leading figures in contemporary art and entertainment. Now in its fourth year, the Deutsche Bank Frieze Los Angeles Film Award, in partnership with Ghetto Film School and FIFTH SEASON, provides a platform and development program for emerging Los Angeles-based filmmakers. Originally from Spain, Irene Gil-Ramon stars in her film Best Day of My Life (in LA), which takes the main character through a seemingly never-ending errand throughout the city.

About the Deutsche Bank Frieze Los Angeles Film Award