Équerre d'argent 2022

Image: Médiathèque Charles-Nègre à Grasse (Alpes-Maritimes), nommée à  l'Équerre d'argent 2022, catégorie Culture, jeunesse et sport, maîtrise d’ouvrage : ville de Grasse ; architectes : Ivry Serres Architecture et Beaudouin Architectes - © Fernando Guerra / FG+SG


Médiathèque Charles-Nègre by Ivry Serres Architecture and Beaudouin Architectes

Prix de l'Équerre d'argent

The 2022 Équerre d'argent jury, mainly composed of architects, chaired by the historian and theoretician of architecture Jacques Lucan and associated with AMC and Le Moniteur reviews, awarded the Prix de l'Équerre d'argent to the Charles-Nègre media library in Grasse (Alpes-Maritimes), designed by Ivry Serres Architecture and Beaudouin Architectes. The media library was awarded for its ingenuity in integrating harmoniously into the dense urban fabric of the historic center and in responding as closely as possible to the daily needs of users and to the societal and environmental challenges of our time.

About the Équerre d'argent

2022 Mario Merz Prize

Image: Yto Barrada, Untitled (After Stella, Melilla II), 2019, Photo Andrea Guermani


Yto Barrada

Mario Merz Prize

Yto Barrada has been selected as the winner of the Mario Merz Prize fourth edition in the Art category. The jury unanimously decided to award Yto Barrada with the following motivation: "We expect a profound and resonating project from Yto Barrada, because her immensely poetic works touches contemporary concerns with irreverence, wit and originality, informed by her background in political science and history. Barrada has a sustained commitment to creating platforms of critical thinking and community engagement, focusing her work on found archives and micro-histories. Yto Barrada’s research is complex and articulated. Rethinking notions of authenticity, transmission and landscape, are just some of the significant areas the artist investigates, through installations, to textiles, to films, and book making."

About the Mario Merz Prize

Prix Artiste citoyen engagé 2022

Image: Performance of the project "Bandjoun Station" by Barthélémy Toguo. Photo: Courtesy of the artist.


Prix Artiste citoyen engagé

Fondation Daniel et Nina Carasso has announced the list of five artists distinguished with the 2nd Prix Artiste citoyen engagé. Previously nominated and short-listed by a French-Spanish committee, the winners were chosen by a voluntary jury which evaluated artists working across all disciplines. This year, the distinction goes to the French artists Eric Minh Cuong Castaing and the duo Valérie Mréjen and Mohamed El Khatib; to the France-based Cameroonian artist Barthélémy Toguo and to the Spanish artists Basurama and José Suárez (aka El Torombo).

About the Prix Artiste citoyen engagé

2022 Isamu Noguchi Award

Image: Thaddeus Mosley, Repetitive Reference, 2015, walnut,
88 × 52 × 26 inches; 223.5 × 132.1 × 66 cm


Daniel Brush

Thaddeus Mosley

Isamu Noguchi Award

Daniel Brush and Thaddeus Mosley received the Isamu Noguchi Award. "The Isamu Noguchi Award was created to recognize exceptional individuals whose creative practice shares a boundary-transcending point of view found in Isamu Noguchi’s work, and extends his ideals into our own times," Noguchi Museum director Brett Littman said in a statement. "We are delighted to present this year’s Award to artists Daniel Brush and Thaddeus Mosley. With long and prolific careers, Daniel and Thaddeus both have a profound attention to material and process, and dedication to craftsmanship and sincerity in their work."

About the Isamu Noguchi Award

2022 Building Beauty Awards

Image: Tintagel Castle Footbridge by Ney & Partners and William Matthews Associates for
English Heritage, completion 2019. Photograph by Jim Holden/English Heritage


Tintagel Castle Footbridge by Ney & Partners and William Matthews

Overall winner

The overall 2022 winner of the Building Beauty Awards is Tintagel Castle Footbridge in Cornwall, a 225ft-span steel bridge designed by Ney & Partners and William Matthews Associates for English Heritage. It provides level access to Tintagel Castle and comprises two cantilevers with a gap in the middle to allow for expansion. This was a challenging assignment, given the terrain and the sensitivity of the site as both an ancient monument and a place of natural beauty.

About the Building Beauty Awards

2022 Possehl Prize for International Art

Image: Matt Mullican, Ohne Titel, 2017, Courtesy Klosterfelde Edition & Matt Mullican,
Photos: Eric Tschernow


Matt Mullican

Possehl Prize for International Art

Matt Mullican, who is based in Berlin and New York, won the Possehl Prize for International Art, which is awarded every three years and comes with an endowment, as well as an exhibition at the Kunsthalle St. Annen in Lübeck, Germany. That exhibition, which is on view until January 8, looks at Mullican’s five-decade career, from his close association with the Pictures Generation to his large-scale pieces that include various cosmologies of his own making.

About the Possehl Prize for International Art

Prix Studio Collector 2022

Image: Gohar Martirosyan, Identity, 2022. Production : Le Fresnoy, Studio national des arts contemporains


Gohar Martirosyan

Prix Studio Collector

The Prix Studio Collector was awarded to Gohar Martirosyan. The Armenian-born, Paris-based digital artist was chosen for her virtual reality video installation Identity, which "probes the disunity at work within ourselves" and "is inspired by the concept of personal wholeness" in a 360 degree experience. Launched by collectors Isabelle and Jean-Conrad Lemaître in 2007, and dedicated to video art, the Prix Studio Collector rewards each year an artist from the Fresnoy who participated in the annual "Panorama" exhibition.

About the Prix Studio Collector

2022 AJ Architecture Awards

Image: Sunderland City Hall by FaulknerBrowns Architects, completion 2021.
Photograph by Hufton + Crow



Architect of the Year

Newcastle-based FaulknerBrowns was named Architect of the Year in AJ Architecture Awards 2022. FaulknerBrowns impressed the judges and the AJ editorial team with its thoughtful, community-orientated architecture and successful public sector partnerships. The practice, in business for six decades and known for placemaking and masterplan expertise as well as architectural design, has created a diverse portfolio of work and is steadily picking up accolades for a string of recent projects.

About the AJ Architecture Awards