Prix Michel Nessim Boukris 2024

Image: Benjamin Swaim, Gigaro (2), 2022-2023. Oil on canvas, 146x114 cm. Photo: Nicolas Pfeiffer


Benjamin Swaim

Prix Michel Nessim Boukris

Benjamin Swaim is the winner of the Prix Michel Nessim Boukris 2024, chosen from among the fifty beneficiaries of the 2023 production support programme. Benjamin Swaim was born in Paris in 1970. For this edition, the Fondation des Artistes has decided to support the creation of a pictorial research project based on landscape. The artist will receive financial support to enable him to produce new works. With this project, Benjamin Swaim is extending and developing his research into landscape, which is now the main subject of his artistic practice.

About the Prix Michel Nessim Boukris

Gordon Parks Foundation Fellowships 2024

Image: Larry W. Cook, Urban Landscapes #1, 2018. Archival pigment print.
Tonika Lewis Johnson, Inequity for Sale


Larry W. Cook

Tonika Lewis Johnson

Fellowship in Art

The Gordon Parks Foundation has announced Larry W. Cook and Tonika Lewis Johnson as the recipients of its 2024 Fellowships in Art. Cook is an interdisciplinary artist and archivist. From 2007 to 2013 he worked as a club photographer throughout the Washington D.C. area, setting up makeshift photo booths that featured backdrops of surrealist landscapes and luxury goods. Cook’s practice explores how the pose and hand-painted backdrops circulate within vernacular club and prison photographs. His work celebrates the legacy of the pose as a form of individual agency and pays homage to the rich tradition of Black cultural spaces. Tonika Johnson is a photographer and social justice artist. With a keen eye for urban segregation and a commitment to preserving Chicago's Black cultural memory, her work explores injustices ingrained in our built environment, systems and social networks.

About the Gordon Parks Foundation Fellowships

YoungArts Awards 2024

Image: Derrick Adams, Floater No. 14, 2016. Acrylic paint and collage on paper, 127x127 cm.


Derrick Adams

Arison Award

The YoungArts Awards 2024 have awarded the Arison Award to artist Derrick Adams. Adams, who works in mediums such as painting, sculpture, collage, performance, video and public art, is best known for his canvases depicting scenes of Black joy, leisure and beauty, all done in a distinctive style in which his subjects’ faces are formed via angular and geometric shapes. His series include Floaters, featuring people having fun in a pool; Style Variations, depicting Black mannequin busts that are given distinctive hairstyles; and Motion Picture Paintings, densely populated scenes that collapse multiple shots from movies made in the artist’s imagination.

Image: Diana Eusebio, Domino, 2022, photograph printed on fabric, quilted and embroidered.


Diana Eusebio

Jorge M. Pérez Award

Multidisciplinary artist Diana Eusebio has been awarded the 2024 YoungArts Jorge M. Pérez Award. Diana Eusebio is a Peruvian-Dominican multidisciplinary artist and fashion designer. She uses colour and textiles to explore the crossover between Latin American, Black Caribbean and Quechua indigenous heritage. She seeks out naturally dyed textiles from indigenous Latin American and Afro-Caribbean traditions, recognising their connection to nature and their role as carriers of ancestral wisdom. Eusebio's fusion of ancestral and modern techniques, including dyeing and photography, contributes to cultural preservation and celebrates the rich heritage and pre-Columbian knowledge embedded in these communities.

About the YoungArts Awards

Deutsche Bank
Artist of the Year 2024

Image: View of Rohini Devasher, One Hundred Thousand Suns, 2023. Four channel synced video installation, UHD, colour, 5.1 sound, 25 minutes. Photo: Henrik Kam. Courtesy of the artist, Minnesota Street Project Foundation and Gallery Wendi Norris, San Francisco.


Rohini Devasher

Artist of the Year

Deutsche Bank recognizes Indian artist Rohini Devasher as the "Artist of the Year" for 2024. Her expansive projects, often comprising groupings of intricate drawings, photography, sound and film, create worlds that emerge from deep research and scientific explorations, illuminating and complicating the subjects at hand. Her most recent four-channel film,One Hundred Thousand Suns (2023), stands as an exemplary piece of work. Spanning material, ephemeral, personal and historical dimensions, the work references over 100,000 portraits of the Sun captured for over a century at the Kodaikanal Solar Observatory in India. Through a rich blend of the observatory’s archival material, NASA public-domain images and her own data collections, Devasher brings us the Sun, observed by hand, by photographic emulsion, by voice and memory.

About the Deutsche Bank Artist of the Year

AD & Range Rover Awards

Image: Haddou Dufourcq, Appartement Neuilly, 2021, Neuilly, France. © Stephan Julliard


Haddou Dufourcq

Prix Coup de Cœur

Kim Haddou and Florent Dufourcq of the Haddou Dufourcq design duo have been awarded the Prix Coup de Cœur at the AD & Range Rover Awards. The duo was also chosen by Sophie Dries in the Timeless Impact category, alongside Valériane Lazard chosen by Christophe Delcourt in the Ultimate Chic Elegance category, Hugo Drubay chosen by Fleur Delesalle in the Remarkable Design category, Le Cann chosen by Dan Yeffet in the Evolution and Innovation category and Waiting For Ideas chosen by Gerry McGovern in the Endless Reinvention category.

About the AD & Range Rover Awards