Prix Françoise Demulder 2023

Image: © Mahé Elipe / Women Photograph, 25 juin 2021, port Felipe carillo, Quintana Roo, Mexique


Mahé Elipe

Juliette Pavy

Prix Françoise Demulder

Mahé Elipe / Women Photograph and Juliette Pavy / Collectif Hors Format are the winners of the Prix Françoise Demulder 2023, created by the ministère de la Culture in partnership with the international photojournalism festival Visa pour l'Image-Perpignan. French photographer based in Mexico, Mahé Elipe's winning report, entitled Celles qui sèment la lutte, focuses on the actions and demonstrations of women's groups against gender violence in Mexico and their commitment to migration and environmental policies. Juliette Pavy's winning project, entitled Sous la glace de l'Arctique, le mercure, focuses on the Arctic, a region she has been interested in for ten years, first as a student of biological engineering, then as a photojournalist.

About the Prix Françoise Demulder

Käthe Kollwitz Preis 2024

Image: Candida Höfer, Belgisches Haus Köln XXI, 2019. C-Print, 70.8x68.7inch / 180x174,5cm.


Candida Höfer

Käthe Kollwitz Preis

German photographer Candida Höfer is the winner of the Käthe Kollwitz Preis 2024. Known for her large colour photographs of interior spaces, she focuses on symmetry, the architecture's sense of scale and proportion. Between 1973 and 1979, she compassionately documented the lifestyles of new immigrant workers, a period during which she became interested in how people construct and engage with their environment, and how it affects their lives. The artist's subject matter shifted from people to public spaces, such as the vast interiors of cultural and institutional buildings like libraries, museums, hotels, banks, opera houses, zoological gardens and palaces. Höfer's images are typically empty of people, paying special attention to accentuating each space's architectural qualities.

About the Käthe Kollwitz Preis

2023 Sobey Art Award

Image: Kablusiak, Red Ookpik, 2002. Dyed sealskin, felt, fibrefill, embroidery floss and leather, 16.5x9.5x9.5 cm. © Kablusiak. Photo: Philip Kanwischer/Courtesy of Norberg Hall



Sobey Art Award

Kablusiak is the winner of the 2023 Sobey Art Award, Canada’s top art prize. Kablusiak is a multidisciplinary Inuvialuk artist and curator who uses Inuk ingenuity to create work in a variety of mediums, including lingerie, white flour, soapstone, felt, acrylic paint, and words. The artist’s work explores dis/connections and family and community ties within the Inuit diaspora, as well as the impact of colonization on Inuit expressions of gender and sexuality, on health and wellbeing, and on daily life. Kablusiak was born in Yellowknife, Northwest Territories and raised in Edmonton, Alberta, and they are currently based in Calgary, Alberta.

About the Sobey Art Award

Planches Contact 2023

Image: © Julia Lê, Come Rain Come Shine


Julia Lê

Prix Tremplin Jeunes Talents

The jury of the Planches Contact photography festival in Deauville, chaired by Sarah Moon, awarded the Prix Tremplin Jeunes Talents 2023 to Julia Lê for her project Come Rain Come Shine, in which she paints a tender and intimate portrait of the chambermaids in the hotels of the Côte Fleurie. Julia Lê is a Franco-American photographer of Vietnamese origin, born in 1996 and based in Paris. Nurtured as much by images as by text, her photographic practice is made up of sensory, intimate and poetic narratives.

About Planches Contact

AJ Architecture Awards 2023

Image: Waugh Thistleton, The Black & White Building, Hackney, London, 2023.
© photo: Jake Curtis


Waugh Thistleton

Architect of the Year

Waugh Thistleton has been named Architect of the Year in AJ Architecture Awards 2023. The practice is well known for being a longstanding advocate of timber as a sustainable alternative to conventional building materials and has pushed hard for its adoption despite challenges and setbacks in terms of post-Grenfell fire regulations and insurance issues. This year, the practice completed the Black & White Building in Shoreditch, central London’s tallest engineered-timber building. The building made headlines as a case study of a ‘boundary-pushing sustainable workspace’.

Image: James Gorst Architects, New Temple Complex, New Lands, Liss, Hampshire, 2022.
© photo: Rory Gardiner


New Temple Complex by James Gorst Architects

AJ Design of the Year

The New Temple Complex by James Gorst Architects, a multifaith community scheme, set in the South Downs, has won the Design of the Year prize. Open to the public, it comprises a temple, library, chapels and multi-use community hall within landscaped grounds. Its rationalised plan is organised as a series of orthogonal, timber-framed pavilions connected by a cloistered walkway facing onto a central courtyard garden. The internal arrangement follows an identifiable progression from secular to ritual space, moving from timber portico and foyer at the eastern entrance, through to the main temple space in the west.

About the AJ Architecture Awards

2023 AFIELD Fellowships

Image: Mavi Kuş Dayanişma © Fırat Yücel


Louis Oke-Agbo

Elisa Silva

Necati Sönmez


AFIELD grants 3 annual fellowships to artists and cultural practitioners who have initiated social projects, catalyzing change and empowering their communities. This year's fellows are Louis Oke-Agbo, an artist from Benin, for whom photography is a tool for healing and raising awareness, he founded the Vie et Solidarité art therapy centre in Porto-Novo in 2015 ; Elisa Silva, an American-Venezuelan architect, who focuses on raising awareness of spatial inequalities in urban environments ; Necati Sönmez, a Turkish critic, journalist and documentary filmmaker, who is interested in the relationship between politics and culture, and co-founded of the Documentarist festival.

About the AFIELD Fellowships

2023 Film London Jarman Award

Image: EWIDWOP Collective, Everything Worthwhile is Done With Other People (2023). Video still. Courtesy EWIDWOP Collective.


Rehana Zaman

Film London Jarman Award

London-based artist Rehana Zaman is the winner of the 2023 Film London Jarman Award, which supports artists working in film and moving image. Zaman, who for the past five years has been making a film in collaboration with women impacted by incarceration, was praised for her ‘sensitive navigation of issues of social justice’. Her work speaks to notions of kinship and sociality, seeking out possibilities of intimacy and transgression within hostile contexts. Conversation and cooperative sit at the heart of her films which extend into texts, performances and group work.

About the Film London Jarman Award

Prix de la Monnaie de Paris 2023

Image: Thomas Noui, Hungerstein. © Monnaie de Paris / Sidonie Ronfard


Thomas Noui

Prix de la Monnaie de Paris

Thomas Noui is the winner of the Prix de la Monnaie de Paris 2023. Entitled Hungerstein (German for famine stone), Thomas Noui's medal refers to the stones that are only visible when riverbeds are very low due to drought. Designed as an ecological warning, over time the object should reveal a warning message on its rocky face, through the effect of natural corrosion. The 27-year-old designer, architect and activist studied at the École Camondo. This year, the prize was chaired by Catherine Meurisse, the first comic book author to become a member of the Académie des beaux-arts in 2020.

About the Prix de la Monnaie de Paris