2023 Jane Drew Prize

Image: SANAA, Louvre-Lens, Lens, France, 2006. © Julien Lanoo


Kazuyo Sejima

Jane Drew Prize

Japanese architect Kazuyo Sejima has been awarded the Jane Drew Prize for Architecture 2023. Sejima is co-founder of Pritzker-winning SANAA, which she established with Ryue Nishizawa in Tokyo in 1995, having started her career in the office of Toyo Ito and founding her own office, Kazuyo Sejima & Associates, in 1987. SANAA is also known for designing art galleries such as the New Museum of Contemporary Art in New York, the 21st Century Museum of Contemporary Art in Kanazawa, Louvre-Lens in France and the Sydney Modern Projects in New South Wales. Last year, Sejima and Nishizawa were awarded the 2022 Praemium Imperiale award for architecture.

About the Jane Drew Prize

2023 Ada Louise Huxtable Prize

Image: View of the Seagram Building and Plaza at dusk, New York City, New York, United States, 1958.
Mies van der Rohe and Philip Johnson, architects; Kahn and Jacobs, associate architects; Phyllis Lambert, Director of Planning. Credit(s) © Ezra Stoller / Esto


Phyllis Lambert

Ada Louise Huxtable Prize

Canadian architect and patron Phyllis Lambert is the winner of the Ada Louise Huxtable Prize for Contribution to Architecture, which recognises individuals working in the wider architectural industry who have made a significant contribution to architecture and the built environment. Lambert is known for having commissioned and worked with Mies van der Rohe to design the Seagram Building in the 1950s and founded the Canadian Centre for Architecture (CCA) in 1979. Lambert's latest book Observation Is a Constant That Underlies All Approaches, will be published by Lars Müller in March 2023, and she is currently working on her next book, How Does Your City Grow?, which will be published later this year.

About the Ada Louise Huxtable Prize

2022 Ree Kaneko Award

Image: Edra Soto, Casa-Isla | House-Island, 2022. Installation view, Chicago Botanic Garden.
Photo: James Prinz.


Edra Soto

Ree Kaneko Award

Bemis Center for Contemporary Arts has announced Edra Soto as its 2022 Ree Kaneko Award winner. Edra Soto is a Puerto-Rican born artist, educator, curator, and co-director of the outdoor project space, The Franklin. Soto was an exhibiting artist in the group exhibition Monarchs: Brown and Native Contemporary Artists in the Path of the Butterfly, on view at Bemis Center in 2017–18, in which her work Graft was installed on the exterior windows of the gallery. The exhibition focused on the monarch, the only butterfly that migrates in two directions, as a geographic range and a metaphor for issues around immigration, migration, land rights and sovereignty, inheritance, and transformation.

About the Ree Kaneko Award

2023 International Center of Photography’s Infinity Awards

Image: Ming Smith, August Wilson Series: Two Pool Players, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania 1991.


Ming Smith

Lifetime Achievement

Ming Smith received the Lifetime Achievement award by the New York International Center of Photography. Harlem-based, Detroit-born, Ming Smith attended the famous Howard University, Washington, DC. Ming Smith first became a photographer when she was given a camera, and was the first female member to join Kamoinge, a collective of black photographers in New York in the 1960s, working to document black life. Smith would go on to be the first black woman photographer to be included in the collections of the Museum of Modern Art.

About the International Center of Photography’s Infinity Awards

Académie des beaux-arts

Image: Françoise Huguier, Kommounalki, communal apartments, Saint-Petersbourg, Russia, 2007.


Françoise Huguier

Fauteuil V Académie des beaux-arts

During its plenary session on January 25, 2023, the Académie des beaux-arts elected Françoise Huguier to the chair V of the photography section, created during the adoption of new statutes by the Académie des beaux-arts on October 12, 2022. The photography section is now composed of 5 members: Yann Arthus-Bertrand, Sebastião Salgado, Jean Gaumy, Dominique Issermann and Françoise Huguier.

About the Académie des beaux-arts

Rencontres de Bamako 2022

Image: Atiyyah Khan, série Bismillah. © Atiyyah Khan


Atiyyah Khan

Prix Bisi Silva

For the 13th edition of the Rencontres de Bamako – African Biennale of Photography, presented in various locations in Bamako, Mali until February 8, 2023, the focus is on multiplicity, difference, becoming and heritage. Chaired by the exhibition curator German-Cameroonian Marie-Ann Yemsi, a jury rewarded several photographers. Among them, Atiyyah Khan, is the winner of the new Prix Bisi Silva, in tribute to the famous Nigerian curator who died in 2019, who had directed the Bamako Biennale in 2015.

About the Rencontres de Bamako

2023 United States Artists Fellowship

Image: Natalie Ball, Bang Bang, 2019. Elk hide, wood, rope, rabbit fur, paint, textiles,
dimensions: 84 × 124 inches.


United States Artists Fellowship

The Chicago-based arts nonprofit United States Artists (USA) named 45 recipients of this year’s fellowships. The selected artists represent 19 states, Puerto Rico, and Guam, and a range of age groups and career stages. This is the first year that a fellow from Guam, Roquin-Jon Quichocho Siongco, has been represented. The program, now in its 17th year, has become closely watched, as many previous awardees have gone on to achieve further accolades in the years after winning a USA fellowship.

About the United States Artists Fellowship

Observatoire de l’Espace

Image: © SMITH



Appel à création en impesanteur

SMITH is the winning artist of the call for creation in weightlessness. On board the Airbus zero-g, the artist will carry out his DAMI project. He will film himself using a thermal camera which will capture the spontaneous gestures generated by the disorientation caused by weightlessness and will isolate his body from its context. The artist will then present his project in the form of a video installation.

About the Observatoire de l’Espace