2022 Audain Prize for the Visual Arts

Image: Ian Wallace, Who Will I Become?, 2010. Photolaminate and acrylic on canvas.
Collection of the Audain Art Museum. Courtesy of the artist.


Ian Wallace

Audain Prize for the Visual Arts

Ian Wallace, Vancouver-based photo conceptualist, is known for exploring and juxtaposing the boundaries of monochrome painting and photography while referencing aesthetic and social issues via the subjects of the studio, the museum and the street. He was an early proponent of incorporating the art of the recent past, including film, photography and contemporary painting, into the art history curriculum. Ian Wallace is considered by many to be the progenitor of the Vancouver School of photo-conceptualism, whose practitioners include his former students Stan Douglas, Rodney Graham and Jeff Wall.

About the Audain Prize for the Visual Arts

2022 Royal Academy Dorfman Award

Image: Wallmakers, Pirouette House, Trivandrum, India, 2020.



Royal Academy Dorfman Award

Vinu Daniel founded the architecture firm Wallmakers in 2007. Based in India, they are constantly looking for ways to make construction more sustainable, from building with mud blocks to using urban waste as a material to reduce the embodied energy in construction. One of their most known projects is the IHA Residence in Trivandrum, where they used base plates of washing machines as scrap grills. Other projects such as St. George Orthodox Church in Mattancherry or Pirouette House in Trivandrum showcase their use of Compressed Stabilized Earth Blocks (CSEB) and how it can maintain a balance between innovative and utilitarian design.

About the Royal Academy Dorfman Award

Prix Viviane Esders 2022

Image: Mario Carnicelli, Era Togliatti, 1964. © Mario Carnicelli


Mario Carnicelli

Prix Viviane Esders

The Italian Mario Carnicelli won the first edition of the Prix Viviane Esders, dedicated to independent professional European photographers over 60 years old who are still active. Born in 1937, Mario Carnicelli took up photography at the age of 14 in the photo studio run by his family. He has covered numerous events such as demonstrations or political and trade union meetings, with an approach that he describes as "humanist". He then worked as a freelancer and correspondent for magazines and newspapers. In 2014, he presented a major solo exhibition at Palazzo Fabroni (Pistoia, Italy) and published C’era Togliatti then American Voyage Photographs by Mario Carnicelli in 2018.

About the Prix Viviane Esders

Roswitha Haftmann Prize

Image: Gülsün Karamustafa, Double Reality, 1987-2013.
Fabric, iron, and polyester, 192 x 170 x 171 cm.
Collection Museum of Contemporary Art Chicago


Gülsün Karamustafa

Roswitha Haftmann Prize

Gülsün Karamustafa (born 1946 in Ankara) is a visual artist and filmmaker recognised as "one of Turkey’s most outspoken and celebrated artists." Using personal and historical narratives, Karamustafa explores socio-political issues in modern Turkey and addresses themes including sexuality-gender, exile-ethnicity, and displacement-migration. "Hailed as one of Turkey’s most influential contemporary artists," her work reflects on the traumatic effects of nation building, as it responds to the processes of modernization, political turbulence, and civil rights in a period that includes the military coups of 1960, 1971, and 1980.

About the Roswitha Haftmann Prize

Mentorat Les Filles de la Photo

Image: In Between © Sarah Braeck


Mentorat Les Filles de la Photo

The association Les Filles de la Photo has unveiled the names of the winners of the second edition of mentoring who will benefit from follow-up with two professionals from the photography sector for a period of fifteen months. A restitution of their projects will be organized in November 2023 on the occasion of PhotoSaintGermain, a mentoring partner event. The five winners are : Sarah Braeck, Orianne Ciantar, Celeste Leeuwenburg, Anaïs Oudart and Pauline Rousseau.

About the Mentorat Les Filles de la Photo

2022 Aga Khan Award for Architecture

Image: East Architecture Studio / Nicolas Fayad, Charles Kettaneh,
Renovation of Niemeyer Guest House, Tripoli, Lebanon, completed 2018.


Aga Khan Award for Architecture

The Aga Khan Award for Architecture (AKAA) announced the six winners for its 15th cycle (2020-2022). While many interesting projects were brought to the forefront through the awards, the projects which showed commitment toward communities, innovation and care for the environment were named the winners. The winners are : Argo Contemporary Art Museum & Cultural Centre; Banyuwangi International Airport; Community Spaces in Rohingya Refugee Response; Kamanar Secondary School; Renovation of Niemeyer Guest House and Urban River Spaces.

About the Aga Khan Award for Architecture