2023 Nasher Prize

Image: Senga Nengudi, R.S.V.P. Reverie "Scribe", 2014. Nylon mesh, sand and found metals.
231.14 x 137.16 x 170.18 cm, 91 × 54 × 67 inches. Courtesy the Artist, Sprüth Magers, Thomas Erben Gallery,
New York and Lévy Gorvy Gallery, New York and London. Photo: Timo Ohler.


Senga Nengudi

Nasher Prize

The American artist Senga Nengudi is the recipient of the prestigious Nasher Prize, awarded by the Nasher Sculpture Center in Dallas, Texas. Nengudi is best-known for her ethereal sculptures and installations that use hosiery and sand as a medium, and that "speak pointedly to the fragility of the human body and individual agency", says Jeremy Strick, the director of the Nasher. Nengudi, who is based in Colorado Springs, Colorado, was born in Chicago, Illinois, in 1943, her career spans more than five decades and defies simple categorisation, extending from sculpture and installation to dance, film and photography.

About the Nasher Prize

Whitney Biennial’s

2022 Bucksbaum Award

Image: Ralph Lemon, Untitled, 2021.
Oil and acrylic on paper, 26 × 40 in, 66.1 × 101.6 cm.
Image courtesy the artist


Ralph Lemon

Bucksbaum Award

Interdisciplinary artist, who works primarily in performance, Ralph Lemon has made drawings throughout most of his creative life. He has described the purpose of these works as "a mapping akin to an anthropological practice," involving research and art making. For the Whitney Biennial, he developed a choreography of presentation, exhibiting hundreds of drawings over twenty-five years in five transient variations that unfolded monthly over the course of the exhibition. Themes in Lemon’s work range from elaborate visual meditations and the nature of the artistic process itself to experiments refracting Black American culture, symbols, icons, music, and joy.

About the Whitney Biennial’s Bucksbaum Award

Heinz Awards

Image: vanessa german, Sad Rapper, 2022.
78 x 48 x 40 in, 198.1 x 121.9 x 101.6 cm.


vanessa german

Cauleen Smith

Heinz Award for the Arts

vanessa german and Cauleen Smith received the Heinz Award for the Arts. vanessa german was awarded for her assemblage sculpture, installations, spoken-word poetry and community-based work. She builds her sculptures from everyday objects, transforming them into power figures that acknowledge collective suffering while also offering affirmation and optimism. Cauleen Smith's experimental films, installations and multimedia works push the boundaries of film and blend moving images with painting, textiles and more to create immersive experiences. Drawing from structuralism, Third World Cinema and science fiction, her work explores the power of community and culture while offering a phenomenological experience.

About the Heinz Awards

Créateurs Design Awards

Image: Tadao Ando, Bourse de Commerce, Paris, France.
Image: Patrick Tourneboeuf, Courtesy of Bourse de Commerce – Pinault Collection.


Tadao Ando

Andrée Putman Lifetime Achievement Award

Japanese architect and 1995 laureate of the Pritzker Architecture Prize, Tadao Ando, is recognised by Créateurs Design Awards for his contribution to architecture. Heavily inspired from Japanese simplicity and Zen concepts, Ando's buildings focus on quietude and inwardness rather than an outward nature of architecture. An often recurring feature that ties most of his works is the celebration of negative spaces and the idea of circulation, as Ando believes silence and nothingness are powerful qualities which when communicated through spaces allow reflective pondering, and let you experience 'more' with less.

About the Créateurs Design Awards

Artists’ Legacy Foundation's
2022 Artist Award

Image: Juan Sánchez, Strange and Bitter American History, 2005.
Oil, mixed media collage on wood panel, 74 x 72 inches
Collection of the Smithsonian National Museum of African American History and Culture.


Juan Sánchez

Artist Award

The Oakland-based Artists’ Legacy Foundation has given its 2022 Artist Award to the influential Nuyorican artist Juan Sánchez, who is known for a wide-ranging body of work that combines aesthetic and political concerns in mixed-media paintings and sculptures drawing on his family histories and the stories of his communities. In a statement, jury member and artist Miguel Luciano said, "Juan Sánchez has achieved a legacy that’s inspired generations of artists through the sublime beauty of his paintings and prints, and his unwavering commitment to social justice and political liberation. He is an icon among Puerto Rican artists in the diaspora and one of the most important artists of our time."

About the Artists’ Legacy Foundation's Artist Award

2022 Colene Brown Art Prize

Image: Bernadette Despujols, The Vast Ocean in Which the Woman Swims.


Colene Brown Art Prize

BRIC, a multidisciplinary arts organization in Downtown Brooklyn, has named the 10 winners of its third annual Colene Brown Art Prize, which comes with a grant and supports the work of underrecognized New York–based artists. The winners are Anna Conway, Bernadette Despujols, Aaron Gilbert, Emilie Louise Gossiaux, Valerie Hegarty, Camille Hoffman, Sara Jimenez, L.J. Roberts, Rachelle Mozman Solano, and Jeff Sonhouse.

About the Colene Brown Art Prize

2022 Schering Stiftung Award
for Artistic Research

Image: Kameelah Janan Rasheed, eye, 2021. Courtesy of the artist.


Kameelah Janan Rasheed

Schering Stiftung Award for Artistic Research

Kameelah Janan Rasheed has won the Schering Stiftung Award for Artistic Research, which is administered by the KW Institute for Contemporary Art in Berlin. In a statement, this year’s jury said, "A decisive part of Rasheed’s artistic research is dedicated to challenging hegemonic knowledge systems and to dissect their inherently oppressive power structures. Her practice can be regarded as an invitation to the viewer to learn and unlearn, probing ways of how this process can be achieved in a collective setting. Rasheed’s work is characterized and informed by her engagement with local communities, with whom she seeks to define a new collective and empowering mode of knowledge production."

About the Schering Stiftung Award for Artistic Research

Prix Maison Ruinart 2022

Image: Matthieu Gafsou, Cette constante brûlure de l’air, 2022.
© Matthieu Gafsou / Courtoisie Galerie C / Ruinart


Matthieu Gafsou

Prix Maison Ruinart

The Prix Maison Ruinart 2022, organized with the support of the Picto Foundation, was awarded to photographer Matthieu Gafsou. This prize highlights the work of photographers carried out during an artistic residency in Champagne. Matthieu Gafsou will present his series Cette constante brûlure de l’air, produced during the torrid summer of 2022, within the Curiosa section of the Paris Photo fair, which will be held from November 10 to 13 at the Grand Palais Éphémère. His images subtly denounce the brutality of environmental changes, oil being used as a pigment to color the photographs taken during his stay in Champagne.

About the Prix Maison Ruinart