2022 Pritzker Architecture Prize

Image: Diébédo Francis Kéré, Léo Doctors’ Housing, 2019, Léo, Burkina Faso.
Photo courtesy of Francis Kéré and Pritzker Architecture Prize.


Diébédo Francis Kéré

Pritzker Architecture Prize

Diébédo Francis Kéré, architect, educator and social activist, has been selected as the 2022 Laureate of the Pritzker Architecture Prize. Born in Gando, Burkina Faso and based in Berlin, Germany, the architect known as Francis Kéré empowers and transforms communities through the process of architecture. Through his commitment to social justice and engagement, and intelligent use of local materials to connect and respond to the natural climate, he works in marginalized countries laden with constraints and adversity, where architecture and infrastructure are absent.

About the Pritzker Architecture Prize

2022 Jane Drew Prize

Image: Farshid Moussavi Architecture, Museum of Contemporary Art Cleveland,
Cleveland, USA, 2012. © Dean Kaufman.


Farshid Moussavi

Jane Drew Prize

Farshid Moussavi has been awarded the Jane Drew Prize for Architecture 2022, as part of the W Awards series formerly known as the Women in Architecture awards. British-Iranian architect, educator and writer Farshid Moussavi was a co-founder of Foreign Office Architects, famous for the Yokohama International Ferry Terminal (2002). In 2011 she founded Farshid Moussavi Architecture (FMA). The practice’s works include the Museum of Contemporary Art Cleveland (2012) as well as two housing projects in France – Îlot 19 in Nanterre (2016) and La Folie Divine in Montpellier (2017) – and is currently working on the Ismaili Center Houston.

About the Jane Drew Prize

Charlotte Perriand Award

Image: Adjaye Associates, Smithsonian National Museum of African American
History and Culture, Washington DC, USA, 2016.


David Adjaye

Charlotte Perriand Award

British-Ghanian architect David Adjaye was awarded the inaugural Charlotte Perriand Award by The Créateurs Design Awards. He is considered one of the leading architects of the 21st century. David Adjaye was knighted for his architecture in 2017, before becoming the first black recipient of the RIBA Royal Gold Medal in 2021. Among his key projects are the Smithsonian NMAAHC, the Sugar Hill housing, the Steven Lawrence Centre and the 130 William skyscraper.

About the Charlotte Perriand Award

2022 RIBA Royal Gold Medal

Image: Balkrishna Doshi, Tagore Memorial Hall, Ahmedabad, 1967.
© Vastushilpa Foundation, Ahmedabad


Balkrishna Doshi

Royal Gold Medal

Ninety-four-year-old Balkrishna Doshi, who was the first Indian architect to win the Pritzker Architecture Prize in 2018, has a portfolio of more than 100 built projects that includes collaborations with both Le Corbusier and Louis Kahn. Among his key projects is the Atira Guest House completed in 1958, the CEPT University, which he both designed and founded in 1966, and the cave-like Amdavad ni Gufa art gallery completed in 1994. He also created the Aranya Low Cost Housing complex for 80,000 people in Indore, which won the Aga Khan Award for Architecture in 1995.

About the RIBA Royal Gold Medal

2022 Royal Academy Architecture Prize

Image: Renée Gailhoustet, La Maladrerie, Aubervilliers, 1975-1986. © Marc Pataut


Renée Gailhoustet

Royal Academy Architecture Prize

French architect Renée Gailhoustet has been awarded the 2022 Royal Academy Architecture Award for her pioneering work designing public housing and neighborhoods in and around Paris. Born in Oran in French Algeria in 1929, she enrolled in École Nationale des Beaux-Arts de Paris, gained her diploma in 1961, and founded her own firm in 1964. In 1962, while working at the firm of Roland Dubrulle, she began to work on the urban renewal of Ivry-sur-Seine, becoming the chief architect of the project in 1969. In addition to her numerous projects in suburban Paris, like Aubervilliers, Saint-Denis, and Villejuif, she also developed two urban renewal plans for Reunion Island.

About the Royal Academy Architecture Prize

2022 AIA Gold Medal

Image: Brooks + Scarpa, Animo South Los Angeles Charter High School Los Angeles, CA, 2015.


Angela Brooks and Lawrence Scarpa

Gold Medal

Partners in life and design, American architects Angela Brooks, FAIA (Fellow of the American Institute of Architects), and Lawrence Scarpa, FAIA, of Brooks + Scarpa have been awarded the 2022 AIA Gold Medal. They are known for their commitment to what the AIA called "a socially engaged approach to design". Their projects include The Six housing project, a low-cost housing development for displaced veterans, a store created for skincare brand Aesop with walls made from recycled cardboard tubing, a high school wrapped in yellow anodised-aluminium panels that was reconstructed after a fire, and a set of modular units designed as toolkits to construct homeless shelters called Nest.

About the AIA Gold Medal